APCA Convention Reflects Continued Market Confidence

May 2011, Vol. 66 No. 5
Dick Morris

The recent American Pipe Line Contractors Association annual convention held recently at the scenic Grand Del Mar in San Diego, CA, drew another near-record attendance.

The association members have enjoyed several years of strong market growth. Guest speakers told the audience that while pipeline construction has slowed from its record pace, there is still reason to be encouraged about the industry’s future. While 2011 and 2012 are projected to be average years for pipeline construction, overall economic improvement and continued focus and growth for natural gas will most likely lead to stronger markets, possibly as early as 2013.

apca11 013.jpg

apca11 043.jpg

Speakers included Mike Morgan, El Paso Corp.; Keith Friede, Gallagher Benefit Services; Greg Guidry, Onebane Law Firm; and Robert Carpenter, Oildom Publishing.

apca11 001.jpg

Taking over as the 2011 APCA president was John Fluharty, Mears Group. Other officers include: Vice President Ricky Dyess, M.G. Dyess, Inc.; Secretary/Treasurer Bruce Gilliland; and Executive Director J.D. Lormand.

Regular member directors are: James Driver, Driver Pipeline Co.; Randy Farrar, Farrar Construction Inc.; Max Nichols, Jomax Construction Co.; Mark O’Roke, Sunland Construction; Alan Owens, Troy Construction; Bill Schettine, Meridien Energy; Pat Simpson, Sterling Construction; and Sean Sullivan, Elkhorn, Construction. Advisory board members include: Morris Farrar, Clovis Hester and John Maxwell.

apca11 023.jpg

Associate member officers are: President Scott Jeter, Pipeline Machinery International; Vice President Joe Trapani, Caterpillar; Secretary/Treasurer John Lucki, Cross Country Pipeline; Convention Chairpersons Carl & Sonnie Rafferty, Cross Country Pipeline; and Golf Chairperson Bobby Darby, Darby Equipment Company.

Dick Morris
The winning team members of the annual APCA golf tournament were: Eddie Weatherford, CRC-Evans Pipeline International; Brad Haines, Drill America; Shell Sanford, CRC-Evans Automatic Welding; and Johnny Peters, Shaw Pipeline Services. In a rare development, Troy Edge of Greene’s Energy Group won the men’s closet to the pin contest by virtue of a hole-in-one. That’s the second time a member of the association has made a hole-in-one during the annual convention. Past Executive Director Ed Kull accomplished the feat in the mid-90s at Orange Tree Resort in Scottsdale, AZ.

BJM pump

BJM pump
BJM Pump

The J-Series electric submersible pumps offer top performance and high quality for a very modest investment. The pumps are designed for long life and trouble free performance. The J-Series electric submersible pumps offer top performance and high quality for a very modest investment.