APCA Holds 41st Annual Convention, Elects Ricky Dyess President

April 2012, Vol. 67 No. 4
2012 APCA associates member board.

“We have an aging infrastructure on all type of underground utilities,” he continued, “We have great drivers that move our markets. The price of oil will continue to drive exploration and drilling. Natural gas is the next big opportunity. We haven’t really touched on the drivers for natural gas. We’re primarily using it for heating, but it is now shifting to electric generation.” He also believes there are all types of other ideas for the use of natural gas, including vehicles. The price of natural gas is making other uses very attractive.

Another recent landmark for APCA was the renewal of their alliance with OSHA. Fluharty attended a meeting earlier in the year and came away feeling that the key people in OSHA view APAC as the group on the forefront of safety for the pipeline industry.

He ended his comments by asking members to make sure their people attend association safety meetings, in addition to attending the regular meetings and in bringing in new members.

New officers, directors
Officers elected for 2012 are: President Ricky Dyess, M.G. Dyess Inc.; Vice President Nick Bruno, Bi-Con Services Inc.; 2nd Vice President Sean Renfro, Sunland Construction Inc.; and Secretary/Treasurer Bruce Gilliland. J.D. Lormand remains as executive director at the association’s office in Lafayette, LA.

2012 APCA President Ricky Dyess and his wife Teresa of M.G. Dyess, Inc.

Other directors are: Pat Simpson, Sterling Construction Co.; Randy Farrar, Farrar Construction Inc.; Max Nichols, Jomax Construction Co. Inc.; Bill Schettine, Meridien Energy LLC; John Fluharty, Mears Group Inc.; Alan Owens, Troy Construction LLC; and Sean Sullivan, Elkhorn Construction. “Advisory” directors are Morris Farrar, Clovis Hester and John Maxwell.

The associate member board consists of: Joe Trapani, president, Caterpillar; Scott Anderson, John Deere & Company; John Lucki, secretary/treasurer, Cross Country Pipeline Supply; Carl and Sonnie Rafferty, convention chairperson, Cross Country Pipeline Supply; and Bobby Darby, Darby Equipment Inc., golf chairperson. As pictured at the head of this article they are (l to r): Carl and Sonnie Rafferty, John Lucki, Bobby Darby, Joe Trapani, and Scott Anderson.

APCA (J.D. Lormand); (337) 278-0056, www.americanpipeline.org; or Ricky Dyess, (601) 943-6663.

BJM pump

BJM pump
BJM Pump

The J-Series electric submersible pumps offer top performance and high quality for a very modest investment. The pumps are designed for long life and trouble free performance. The J-Series electric submersible pumps offer top performance and high quality for a very modest investment.