NASSCO Continues To Expand Programs, Membership

By Robert Carpenter, Editor | April 2012, Vol. 67 No. 4
Outgoing NASSCO President Kathy Romans addresses the membership.

The production of the video was made possible by the support of several NASSCO member sponsors including: Jack Doheny Supplies, Vac-Con, Vactor Manufacturing, NozzTeq, Applied Felts, Brenford Environmental Systems, Compliance EnviroSystems, CIPP Corporation, Doetsch Environmental Services, Duke’s Root Control, Insituform, LMK, Logiball, Mar-Tech Underground Services, Pro-Pipe, RapidView, Sewer Equipment Company and Visu-Sewer.

NASSCO has been steadily building its scholarship fund and during the convention announced two recipients of the 2012 Jeffrey D. Ralston Memorial Scholarship: Kenneth Ryan McLarrin, Louisiana Tech University getting his degree in Construction Engineering and Technology; and Smith Farley Rangel Sanabria, University of Maryland-College Park, who is completing a Professional Master of Engineering- Project Management. Each will receive $2,000.

Incoming NASSCO President John Nelson is vice president at Visu-Sewer, a contracting company based in Pewaukee, WI. Nelson marks the third president from Visu-Sewer which has been a long-time active member and supporter of NASSCO.

As he formally assumed the NASSCO presidency, Nelson told the audience that “it’s great to catch up with old friends and meet new ones.

“Fortunately, we’re in an industry that has been somewhat flourishing in a difficult time. NASSCO members are some of the most hard working and successful people you’ll ever know. That’s what has made NASSCO so successful.

“I look forward to seeing each of you now and in the future in this fine organization,” Nelson stressed.

The final banquet was highlighted by the awarding of the association’s highest honor: the Select Society of Sanitary Sewer Sleuths. The 2012 recipient was Gerhard (Gerry) Muenchmeyer, a long-time active industry participant and advocate for high standards and quality. He is a past president of NASSCO and currently serves as NASSCO Technical Director.

Long-time industry leader Gerry Muenchmeyer received NASSCO’s highest honor when he was inducted into the Select Society of Sanitary Sewer Sleuths. Making the presentation through a light-hearted roast was a previous inductee Mike Hogan. Pictured, left to right, along with fellow Society members are: Hogan, Wally Huber, Muenchmeyer and William Shook.

NASSCO officers for 2012 – 13 are: President John Nelson, Visu-Sewer; Vice President Joan Stone, Pipelogix; Secretary Stuart Tillery, Duke’s Root Control; and Treasurer Mark Metcalfe, Hoffman Southwest Corporation.

BJM pump

BJM pump
BJM Pump

The J-Series electric submersible pumps offer top performance and high quality for a very modest investment. The pumps are designed for long life and trouble free performance. The J-Series electric submersible pumps offer top performance and high quality for a very modest investment.