PLCA Canada Celebrates Accomplishments, Bright Future

June 2009 Vol. 64 No. 6
Ted Shipka addresses convention attendees.

The Pipe Line Contractors Association of Canada recently held its 55th annual convention at the historic Fairmont Empress Hotel located along the scenic inner harbor of Victoria, BC, Canada.

The convention welcomed 280 attendees who enjoyed informative business sessions, fun activities and entertaining evening events.

Highlights included a traditional salmon barbeque and logging show, a M*A*S*H Bash themed around the movie and hit television show, and a gala featuring the PreTenors, with performances by celebrity impersonators of Luciano Paparazzi, Placebo Domingo and Jose Whocarras.

Among the speakers was Mel Johnson, project director for TransCanada’s Alaska Pipeline Project. Johnson presented a project overview including historical and background information, project scope, timelines, projected costs, what the project will mean in terms of resources – people, equipment and materials, and what to expect for communication and interaction through the project milestones.

Outgoing PLCAC President Ted Shipka presided over convention activities. New PLCAC officers for 2009 - 10 are: PresidentTeri McKibbon, CEO of Aecon Infrastructure Group; 1st Vice President Kevin W. Waschuk, vice president of Waschuk Pipe Line Construction Ltd.; 2nd Vice President Nick J. deKoning, president of Robert B. Somerville Co. Limited; Treasurer David L. Kavanaugh, president of O.J.Pipelines Canada; Immediate Past President Edward L. Shipka, president of Triple Random Inc.; and Executive Director Barry L. Brown.

Directors include: Donald Cusack, vice president marketing, Premay Pipeline Hauling L.P.; Richard J. Delaney, president, The Link Line Group of Companies; David W. Johnstone, president, T.W. Johnstone Company Limited; and Michael R. Prior, vice president & general manager, Michels Canada.

Associate directors are: David M. Douglas, manager of Canadian Pipeline Division of
Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers (Canada) Ltd.; and Bernard G.Lailey, National Pipeline Manager, Acklands Grainger Inc.

In 2008 the association added three regular members (Phillips and Jordan, Knoxville, TN; Pipeline Induction Heat Limited of Burnley, UK; and Rebel Transport of Edmonton, Alberta), and eight associate members (AUT Specialists, Pasadena, TX; Garnett Wood Products Company of West Plains, MO; Hammerhead, Oconomowoc, WI; Hex Hut Shelter Systems, Calgary, Alberta; McFarland Cascade, Tacoma, WA; Orion Inspection Academy, Chatham, Ontario; Vacuworx International, Tulsa, OK; and Worldwide Machinery Pipeline Division, Houston, TX).

BJM pump

BJM pump
BJM Pump

The J-Series electric submersible pumps offer top performance and high quality for a very modest investment. The pumps are designed for long life and trouble free performance. The J-Series electric submersible pumps offer top performance and high quality for a very modest investment.