PLCA Canada Holds 56th Annual Convention In Newfoundland

By Oliver Klinger, Publisher | July 2010 Vol. 65 No. 7
PLCAC 2010-2011 president Kevin Waschuk and his wife, Ann. Kevin is VP of Waschuk Pipe Line Construction, Ltd.

Over the past year PLCAC lost an honorary member and past president – Bill Gant who was president of H. C. Price of Canada for many years. He served twice as president of the Association in 1963 and again in 1970, and was inducted as an honorary member in 1989. Lorne Stoppler, known to many of you here, began his pipeline career at a young age as a pipeline welder and worked in the pipeline industry in US and Canada as a founder and owner of various pipeline construction contracting firms until his death in December 2009. Pete Wiebe, long-time employee of Marine Pipeline Construction of Canada, died in November 2009.

Other speakers included the former Premier of Newfoundland, the Honourable Brian Tobin and General Rick Hillier who is Chief of Defence Staff, the Canadian Forces’ top-ranking position. He was also Commander of the 6,000 allied soldiers in Kabul in 2003 and also served as the first Canadian Deputy Commanding General of III Corps, U.S. Army, in Ft. Hood, Texas.

New Officers and Directors for 2010-2011
The association’s executive committee will include new officers elected at this years meeting, including: Kevin Waschuk, President, Vice President, Waschuk Pipeline Construction, Ltd.; Nick de Koning, 1st Vice President, President, Robert B. Somerville Co. Limited; David L. Kavanaugh, 2nd Vice President, President, O.J. Pipelines Canada; Rick Delaney, Treasurer, President, The Link-Line Group of Companies; Barry L. Brown, Executive Director. Terrance L. McKibbon, CEO, Aecon Infrastructure Group is the Immediate Past President.

Directors include: Don Cusack, Vice President Marketing, Premay Pipeline Hauling L.P.; Dave Douglas, manager of Canadian Pipeline Division, Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers (Canada) Ltd.; David Johnstone, President, T.W. Johnstone Company Limited; Bernie Lailey, National Pipeline Manager, Acklands-Grainger, Inc.; Mike Prior, Vice President & General Manager, Michels Canada and Ted Shipka, President, Triple Random, Inc.

Safety Awards
Winner of this past year’s James L. Abraham Pipeline Construction Safety Award in the mainline category was Techint-Somerville Joint Venture. In the distribution category the winner was Link-Line Contractors Ltd. The specialty contractor – transportation category was awarded to Premay Pipeline Hauling L.P. The specialty contractor (other, over 20,000 hours)–pipeline construction was awarded to Summit Pipeline Services Ltd and the specialty contractor (other, under 20,000 hours)-pipeline construction award went to Michels Canada.

BJM pump

BJM pump
BJM Pump

The J-Series electric submersible pumps offer top performance and high quality for a very modest investment. The pumps are designed for long life and trouble free performance. The J-Series electric submersible pumps offer top performance and high quality for a very modest investment.